top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemtutton1

History of Special Education

Prior to the mid 1980’s, most services were delivered outside of the regular classroom. I was surprised to learn that the Ministry of Education (1978a) reported “an estimated 15, 000 children as yet unidentified as exceptional in the Ontario system through lack of systematic screening programs” (p. 72). I had a hard time envisioning the negative impact on student learning and how difficult this must have been for educators without access to additional supports in the classroom. When I attended school, it seemed that the system was working to meet the needs of students with exceptionalities. Obviously, I was not equipped as an elementary student to know any better. I noticed my friends being pulled out of class for two reasons: either they were “slow” and needed extra help in the resource room, or they were “too smart” and needed to attend an alternative gifted program for half of the day. Looking back on my experience, I realized that although it seemed to make no difference to me, there was definitely a social division that came from excluding students with exceptionalities.


I found it interesting to reflect on the transitional approach to special education in Ontario and consider what the future may hold for further improvements. Canadian Provinces and Territories have now adopted a philosophy of inclusion and promoted appropriate educational programming but the system is far from perfect. The lack of responsibility for evaluating student success in a special education program and overall consistency is still an area in which I think we can improve. While reading, I also considered the evolution of language in special education. We have made great strides in eliminating negative words to describe students with exceptionalities such as “retard” and have started placing the student above the exceptionality.

That being said, I am curious to know what your opinions are on using labels and categories of exceptionalities and if you think they move us towards a more inclusive educational environment? 


References:

Ontario, Ministry of Education. Interview with the Director of Special Education Branch reported in the Globe and Mail, March 23, 1978. (a) 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Teacher Education

During my practicum, I encountered many different approaches to working with students with special needs. My first practicum experience...

Yorumlar


bottom of page