top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemtutton1

Teacher Education

During my practicum, I encountered many different approaches to working with students with special needs. My first practicum experience was in an inner-city kindergarten classroom in Toronto. It was challenging because many students at this age are not yet identified with having an exceptionality although, the early signs were present. My second placement was in a Grade 4/5 class who had three students identified with having a special need ranging from a learning disability to behavioural disability. This was my first exposure of inclusion and the benefits that it can provide students with exceptionalities. For example, there was one student with a behavioural exceptionality who gained confidence from being part of a classroom community that celebrated diversity. In contrast, my third placement gave me a glimpse of the challenges with inclusion as I was working in a Grade 3/4 classroom of a French Immersion school with majority of the students being ESL. Many students had switched from the French program into the English program and were struggling in Language (which essentially impacted every other subject). It was the first time where I had worked collaboratively with the school S.E.R.T. and witnessed the detrimental effects of inconsistency. During my final placement, I had the opportunity to work in a Grade 4/5 Gifted classroom. I became fluent in the areas of differentiated instruction and incorporated a variety of assessment strategies as part of my practice.


During my professional program, there was great emphasis placed on inclusive education and the importance of differentiation. I feel that I was able to apply the skills that I learned during my Bachelor of Education in each of my practicums and further develop my skills. That being said, I also realized that every situation and every classroom is unique. What works for one student will not always work for the other so although I think it's important to have a foundational understanding of students with exceptionalities, I believe we must be flexible and adaptive with every situation. 


In pursuit of personal enrichment, I obtained an additional qualification in Special Education, Part 1 where I learned about the practical application of current principals and was exposed to current educational theory. My background in creating individualized education plans has advanced my understanding of the pillars of successful inclusion and alternative placements for students with exceptionalities.


I think that all classrooms should be equipped to support students with special needs and all educators should require appropriate training (through a B.Ed degree, additional qualification, professional development etc.) to ensure high levels of success for a diverse group of students. In addition, I feel that there needs to be more consistency when it comes to supporting students with special needs and more collaboration from the entire school team.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page